What needs to happen in San Francisco for the rental market to ease…. (or at least a place to start!)


Image

 

This rental market is too far spinning out of control!! This is becoming a huge blith on the lives of all that have to be here. Some drastic measures are going to need to happen soon by our city officials before the rental rises are going to keep charging up like a freight train. I personally right now, without an act of god, see it reversing any time soon let alone level off.

Bottom line, we need to get more rentals infused into our city

…. Where oh where are we going to find them? Lets see, we can build more cheap ugly high rises, we can force out our minority and low income residents,

OR… We can start cracking down on ALL of the illegal leased rentals being rented out at insane prices for a weekend as vacation housing on sites like AirBNB. Not only are all of these rentals that are being included in the numbers for the city being paid for in 2-4 nights for the month rent and sitting empty most of the time, they are not being charged any of the hospitality taxes that a regular-on the grid- bnb or hotel is. It is a massive loophole that is definitely an invisible factor to the lack of available rentals. The landlords should crack down about this stuff too. If a landlord finds a tenant sub leasing their apt. out, and it is not written into the lease, that is just cause for eviction i believe. I am sure the landlord would rather be making the money off of the people needing a place than a tenant!

And.. i think we need some city sponsored and funded low income housing built. Fast. But not cheaply! That is just my observation of a couple places we could make a few adjustments to try and help ease the strain a little.

The city made a LOT of hidden deals with a LOT of companies within the last year to have them bring their businesses here. They can not do that and bring in all that new revenue without providing necessary basics. Sometimes it takes money to make money and they need to take that cash out of their pockets and build some more housing for all of these people that they just enticed to come live here. It seems very corrupt down in city hall these days, because this is really the city’s problem and the city is the only single source that can fix it.

This entry was posted in Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!