How does one survive in SF through this new wave of gentrification if they are not already in tech or medicine?


SF skyline

SF skyline (Photo credit: angeloangelo)

I have been stressed out this last week.  I feel a bit like a mouse trapped in a corner.  Why might you ask?  It is because i am trying to figure out a way that i could become one of the ones that has the luxury of staying in San Francisco in the near future.

I am not a high paid executive and have honestly never cared much about money (to my dismay).

I look at my brother who i am really proud to see is slated to be in a good position to be able to stay in SF and become one of the new population movement.  He owns his own business and it is in the medical industry so it is pretty stable and lucrative.

Me on the other hand… not so easy.  And in fact… seemingly impossible to stay.  I am an artist who is on disability.  I am just able to afford what i have but it is far from an ideal situation !!

I either have to stay in my house (which is what is going to happen) until the man (who is very old) owns it passes or i have to leave this town.

So over the last few days i have been racking my brain.   Now for the past  week, I have been trying to figure out what my options are to be able, at my age, to make enough money to not have to leave SF.  I came up with 2 options… drugs and sex.

If you are not in the tech or medical world or are an attorney, then, good luck! ..Unless you want to become a drug dealer or work in the sex trade.

Neither option sound good.  I am not going to pick a career that vacation time is spent in the big house and i dont really particularly want to have to let old fat harry smelly men paw at me all the time to make rent!!  That doesnt seem fair!  Selling one’s soul for the city that they live… SUCKS!!

What other options are there here for someone who is not tech savvy?

I would be curious to hear any and all other ideas on this topic.  It is a serious issue for many of us and there still may be a minute do do something about it before it is too late… so any ideas i would love for you to share!

Cheers!

This entry was posted in current events and word on the street!, Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

11 thoughts on “How does one survive in SF through this new wave of gentrification if they are not already in tech or medicine?

    • Just dont try and find an apt. in SF right now!! It will suck out your life savings anyway!! lol. If i did not have such a vested interest in this town, i dont think it would be such a difficult thing. But, this town is not just my history, it is my ancestors history and i have been researching what it was like back then, 100-150 years ago for the past 20 years. I am finally starting to feel i know a little bit about it but my research is far from over… unless i have to leave the city. 😦 Oh well, If i do, i do. I am sure that that is one thing that they could tell me is this town IS always changing!! So i guess we are right in step. Doesnt mean i have to like it!! lol.

      Like

        • Oh hell no!! He has a family with 2 little girls. I love my brother, but we have lived to gether our whole childhoods and that is pleanty for me and i am SURE he would say it is pleanty for him!! It isnt really even the point. I could of course probably stay with him for a couple days here and there if absolutely necessary but i have my own life and that is what is possibly being transplanted. I want to be able to sink roots in the city i am invested in. I thought i had but i guess even that investment is not enough. If i was only more money hungry!! If i only had that gleam of green in my eye this whole time. But that is not me. I am maliable. I will adjust to whatever my future holds… whatever it may be or where ever it may be! 🙂 ps.. My brother lives in the east bay anyway!! lolol

          Like

    • Govt work? No. I never have. My mom used to work for the city of Santa Cruz. She liked it a lot but there was a lot less corruption and inside bs in SC than i think there seems to be here. That is something to think about though. Stiff competition i bet!

      Like

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!