Oakland Ghost ship fire is a tragic day in house music history


You know the more i hear about this absolute tragedy in Oakland at the Ghost Ship wherehouse, i can not help but compare the party on friday night to one of the parties we had back in the day of early underground rave parties.  Not only would and did we do parties in places like this we also broke into abandoned wherehouses, turned on a generator or 3 and powered up.   This tragedy could have very easily happened to us at our parties any number of times.

There was an incident back in the early 90’s where a hillside caught fire on private land at a party in Livermore.  Thank heavens the promoters of this party were not only conscience but also on the ball by having a water truck on site and acting quickly. I remember that fire. (see videos below) It didnt last long and it didn’t get  very big, but i do remember it  being scary all the same.  The thoughts of the whole hillside going up in flames and us getting trapped crossed my mind a few times that night.

 

 

There was also a party that i went to in the early 90’s that was at the Fashion Center in San Francisco.  It was in the basement and i remember someone letting out the contents out of a fire extinguisher.  I remember that you could not breathe.  You just wanted to get out of there and find some air.  No one could see where an exit was with all the smoke from the smoke machine and people smoking and the fire extinguisher contents.  It was just like thick white smoke that you could not breathe.  It was terrifying.  I was lucky i was able to remember what color lights were near an exit.  But people did not know where to go.  There was nowhere to run.  Luckily that situation ended without any injuries.  We were lucky no one was trampled.

So when i hear about this absolute tragedy it hits very close to home.  I feel we all got very lucky that there was nothing like this that we ever had to contend with when we were throwing parties in a similar fashion.

My heart goes out to the families and loved ones of this fire.  They predict that the count of victims may be over 100 people to parish.  It is unthinkable.  All young people just starting their lives who just wanted to go and enjoy some good house music.  It is an extremely sad day in house music.

I dont know exactly how this is going to change the way people put parties together but i guarantee that there will be changes.  We can say goodbye to any spaces with code violations which unfortunately means probably greater loss of artists and musicians and bohemians to the fabric of our communities and will force more gentrification within the bay which is also a tragedy.

I will say thank you to the people who put on all of the parties that i attended as a young person.  And that they had been more aware of safety than i was clearly aware of.  If this had happened back in my day, it would have practically ended all of the house music parties on the spot.  The rave movement would have ended before it started.

House music usually heals.  But on this dark week, it killed. 😦

 

**my prayers and hope goes out to all the family and friends and loved ones of the victims of the Ghost Ship Party.  You are all in my thoughts!

This entry was posted in crime and safety, current events and word on the street!, Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

One thought on “Oakland Ghost ship fire is a tragic day in house music history

  1. We are all lucky to survive the mad things we do in our youth. My heart and prays go out to the families of the dead and the survivors of this latest tragedy!

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

