You think things are bad in SF right now… Lets see what the city will be like soon in the future by using Hong Kong here as an example…. Do we really think this is best for SF? If not, we need to start slowing down the gentrification!

GeoFoodie

There is a shortage of housing in Hong Kong. Actually, there seems to be building all the time and new flats are being regularly put on the market, but they are expensive. Indeed a trawl through the real estate adverts reveals a less than 500sq foot flat (1 bedroom) that is on sale for just over $10 million (HK), which when you do the conversion is a bit under $1.3 million US. This is not a particularly spectacular flat in a particularly spectacular location. This is about normal. It will rent for about $31,000 per month (about $4,000 US/£2,500), which is also normal. The thing is, according to the last census, nearly 60% of the population earns less than $25,000 (HK) per month. In fact, if you think about it, to get a mortgage for this ONE BEDROOMED flat, you would need to earn in excess of $100,000 (HK) per…

View original post 1,135 more words

This entry was posted in Writings from my world by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

2 thoughts on “

  1. Thanks for the comments and for re-blogging. I’ve recently been reading Grapes of Wrath again. It is amazing what 30 years (since the last read) and several moves will do to ones perspective. The message that we need to take care of each other is a strong one and seeing the effects of Neoliberalism in this place makes me even sadder when I see what is happening in the US.

    • Basically we have been hi-jacked by corporations here in america. It is all about greed and commerce. San Francisco is becoming an unrecognizable place and its attitude is unlike anything i have ever seen. It is SO sad to see a place that was so beautiful and bohemian become this pro growth up tight entitled playground for these kids who moved here and told the long time residents that “if you cant afford to live there then you should just move out.” all the while they discuss tearing down victorians to put up luxury housing condos. It makes me sick!

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

