This is really funny and so true. I think this young lady will do quite well in SF! She already has the quick wit needed to survive this town!

The Girl Next Door is Black

I’m relocating from Los Angeles to San Francisco imminently. Bye Los Angeles. It’s been…well, I’ll save the “sentiments” for another post.

This past weekend I flew up to the Bay to scout apartments, hoping to find a place before I officially move up. What a freaking mess it is up there! It’s not apartment hunting, it’s a cattle battle and the winner gets a drastically overpriced apartment fit for an oompa loompa and oompa loompa-sized furniture. Here’s how it works:

  1. You check Craigslist maniacally – ‘cause Craigslist is really the only way to find a place – looking for a listing that fits your criteria: clean, pet-friendly, not in crackhead row, no gross carpet from the 60s ‘cause you’re a hardwood floor snob and large enough for the harem of men you plan to acquire;
  2. many landlords / agents hold open houses. Silly me, I thought open houses were for…

View original post 1,211 more words

This entry was posted in Writings from my world by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

11 thoughts on “

    • Thanks for the really well and funny post! You have got the game down pact. Just think. A landlord makes $25-$40 per rental app. In a 2 hr. open house, they get 20 apps (which is really low), they just made $400. so you do 2 a weekend every weekend and you dont need to even rent the damn studio. Just show it! It sucks! Bring in a credit report and they cant ask for the money for one. And if they do (or you pay it…) make sure that they actually checked your credit. a lot of times they dont and just take the money and no one checks up on them. If you do, and they didnt, you actually have the landlord for fraud if you chose to pursue it. I really hope someone someday does and catches these greedy landlords at their game!
      🙂
      Emelie

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

