Oh what a night! Critical Mass at 20 years old. San Francisco.


Critical Mass SF 20 years

CriticalMass20-2

Tonight was AMAZING!! For all those that know me, know how difficult time I have been having with the changes in the city and general selling out / gentrification of my dear town. Well, all, tonight I was able to finally feel some relief and actual general bliss and total happiness!

Maybe it is the approx. 20 miles I have peddled in and across and back of SF tonight. Could be just exercise high, or it could be the awesomeness that was the people and partakers (that means you two cars on market that were stopped with doors open and music blarin and them dancing while watching a parade of at LEAST 6000 bicycles stop them in their tracks!).

The 2 roommates that went with me were lost right away. It it did t matter. It was not individuals riding but one giant breathing entity that worked with thank you’s, non verbal commands and general dignity of class. The old kind. The kind u cant buy!

Tonight I felt the flicker of the SF I fell in love with growing up but specifically, 20 years ago in this town. It gives me hope that our true spirit still lies within!

On a final note, i do have to say that a little piece of me does feel good taking our place on the roads and making those cars have to wait.  They never see bikes as an equal person in transport on the roads.  They are bigger so they are more important.  Not so on Critical Mass nights.  So, you get 29 or 30 days a month and we get 1 evening.  Seems fair enough.

Angry guy at Critical Mass 20

CriticalMass20-3angryguy
This entry was posted in current events and word on the street!, social issues, Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

3 thoughts on “Oh what a night! Critical Mass at 20 years old. San Francisco.

  1. Awesome! I love everything about this post, I’m glad you had such a fabulous, life affirming experience. I just hope that by now your legs and backside have recovered! 🙂

    • You know, surprisingly, i was not sore a all the next day. However, i have not been so tired EVER! I was pretty much worthless until almost 3:30 the next day. Felt like i got hit by a semi! But… oh so worth it!

      • Yeah, how did you feel the next day…? It’s like horse riding. The first time you feel great the day after. The next day. Oh MAN… Lol!

        So impressed, by the way… 🙂

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

