It is a travel day again for me, but OH SO MUCH BETTER with no airport security!


Ashland Oregon

 

What a week…..  I just must start with that.  It has been what was aiming up to be the most stressful pre-trip week ever.  However, somehow, this time, it all (knock knock on wood!!) went so surprisingly easy!  Let me just tell you, it is a whole lot easier on my psyche to not have to pack and dress for a flight.

Not having to go through the security with the possibility of  being strip searched is wonderful, but, not as wonderful as being able to take liquids and 2 bags of any weight is even better!

This week i am going to my family reunion up in Ashland Oregon.  I have been really looking forward to it even though i was the only one that (due to living in San Francisco and not needing a car) had to figure out how to get up there by today.

This time i was bound and determine to do whatever it took to not have to ride a greyhound for hours to get there.  And, this time, it actually worked!  What worked you ask?  Craigslist ride share is what worked.  By friday, i had secured a ride (thank you Dusty!) and over the next 3 days, i received another 5 or 6 offers from some that i had emailed from their posts, and some that responded to my own post on Ridejoy.

$20-$30 to get to Oregon?  That seems unbeatable to me!  I could not have done it any cheaper or any more comfortably.  I am also given the chance to get to know an Ashland local during the drive so i should have all of the inside information on the best secret squirrel spots in Ashland.

In this economy of ours, we have to start looking at ways to save money doing those things that we are used to being able to just pay for.  Rideshare was a perfect example of that.  I know it is not ideal for everyone, (those with bikes, babies, dogs, lots of people, your whole family etc.)  but, for a single girl who is on a very limited budget, it gives a way to save some money and a chance to meet some new people. Not to mention a direct path without thousands of intermittent stops making the drive WAY too long!

Hopefully we arrive to Oregon safely and quickly and the rest of the trip (including figuring out a plan back!) goes as smoothly as getting there does!  Knock Knock on wood!

I am bringing up both of my computers so that hopefully i can continue to write a post a day for you all.  I will explain later why there have to be 2… but that is another nightmare story for another time.

Right now it is time to get dressed, zip up my bags and play and brush out my kitty before i leave.  He i think does better than me during our separation.  So i must get extra kitty loving in before putting him in the good care of my old roommate.  He will probably like her better by the time i get back because she has got the long nails to scratch behind the ears with!

Well i had better not waist too much more time here… Time to pack it up and hit the road!

Hope your weekend was as easy as mine and i hope your week is as wonderful as i hope mine to be.

Au Revoir fine readers!

This entry was posted in Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

3 thoughts on “It is a travel day again for me, but OH SO MUCH BETTER with no airport security!

  1. Wow, have a safe and enjoyable trip. I shall look forward to the sporadic updates. 😉

    Wow, Rideshare – is that like organised hitch hiking? 🙂 Ace. Very strange but a great way to have new adventures and meet new people. 🙂 Take care!!!

    • Thank you my friend! I am having a good and sometimes stressful time on my trip. Rideshare is like organized hitching for gas money i guess. It worked really well up here,We will see if it is true trying to get home tomorrow… nope, i meant today! 🙂

      • I’m glad it’s working. I think that’s really adventurous! Just make sure you play it safe – sorry for turning all mumsy! 🙂
        Plus, take lots of pictures! 🙂

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

