Is it time we revert to 90’s era activism, like altering billboards? Brilliant regardless.


Is it time we revert to 90's era activism, like altering billboards?  Brilliant regardless.

There was a time in the early-mid 90’s here in SF where this group would alter already posted billboards. They were BRILLIANT!! Considering the absolute greed and money based culture that has seemed to have taken our town hostage over the last decade, maybe it is time for us to get more proactive again. It has been proven time and time again, that the money makers want to exploit this beautiful city. And they do! It has been a tug-o-war since Yerba buena found gold between those that want to exploit her and cash in on her unique attitude and beauty, and those who help make up that attitude and beauty, the actual residents… especially the long term ones.

San francisco used to be both a place for old timers that had so many awesome stories and everybody in the neighborhood knew and a very transient population that are short-long-termers. I always used to say that this town either accepts you or it chews you up and spits you out. It is not your choosing. I still believe this is how the city used to be. It was the place that people would go to find themselves, or to work for a couple years or to play for a while. Most of them would not stay, but the ones who did, they were special. They were also very proud and steadfast locals. They did not need a lot more from life. This is about as good as it got. They tried to really work to keep the greed out.

This is a town that attracts greed, because one could sell out this town to no ends. However, if that were to happen, to start with it would never be the same town. It may look similar, but the soul would have gone. Only a cheap greed built shell that housed no heart and 0 soul! It is so easy to do though. We have helped to build what i consider my utopia. It is home. More than the home i even grew up in. Not particularly a neighborhood, but the city in itself. I always seem to take a huge exhale as soon as i reach home whenever out of town.

I am very nervous though. It is gentrifying right before my very eyes! From a sneak in job winning mayor to the costs of rent to the attack on Sheriff Mirkirami. It is very apparent what is going on here if we (whatever locals are left) kneed to begin to organize and fight back. We can not allow our city to be turned out for the highest bid just lying down! I know we have had to fight this fight before, but we can not just give up. This town deserves us to fight for her. She is so worth it!

This entry was posted in Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

