One Hundred and Six years ago today, our city shook and burned to the ground.


But after the ashes comes the new. Rebirth. San Francisco took a major catastrophe and came back bigger and brighter than ever.  Maybe the lavish personal excess curbed down a bit after the 06′ quake and fire, but maybe it should have been anyway.  Maybe not too much different from today.

Well, here is my homage to the city my ancestors helped build and re-build and that i have had the privilege to call home for almost the last two decades and that laid the landscape to my relationship with my great aunt and one of my dearest departed family members.  This city is me.  It is what makes me feel like i am home.  It is what i identify my identity with.  It is what created the person that sits here now.  It is what drives my research about my ancestry and allows me to try and imagine walking in the footsteps my for family did.  Thank you lineage for allowing me this adventure and quest to find out not only who you are but where i came from and who i am.

Here is to the spirit that fules rebirth and connection.  And rebuild they did! And rebuild

we always will!

And today…

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in current events and word on the street!, things lost, Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

6 thoughts on “One Hundred and Six years ago today, our city shook and burned to the ground.

  1. Hello. 🙂

    Just stopped by from rayannsom’s site to say hi, and see what you’re all about up in here.

    You’ve chosen some great photos for this post. And wonderful words as well.

    Imma come back for more later. K?

    • Hello and thank you for stopping by and your kind words. Please come back and say hi any time! I am about to go see what your blog is all about too. I will probably have opinions too so be prepared! 😉

  2. Even though many of them are images of destruction, what fabulous pictures. It’s a devastating yet truly optimistic story. In fact, your opening lines remind me of the film version of ‘Angels in America’ when heaven is set in San Francisco. Have you seen/read the plays? Fabulous.

    I’m just catching up on all of my blog reading… 🙂

    • Well, there has got to be something entertaining to you whatever your likes may be here in my blog. I was just thinking about it the past few days… My blogs contents is super scattered in content. Hard to say what exactly it is about. I was asked a few times when i saw my family at my grandma’s memorial last weekend and i had to think about what to say. I dont remember what i did…. Oh a funny thing though, the last entry before the memorial was the frickin camel toe one! So when they looked at it, that is the first post they see! Haha. Oops! Now, to your question, Yes. I have seen Angels in America. I saw the play way back in the early 90’s. My grandma had season tickets to ACT so she took me. It is so far the only play that was so long that i had to go back a second day to see the second half. The first half was better, but the second half was shorter so it was a draw. I liked it but it was a little sad and slow. I am glad that i saw it though. At the time, i had several people i knew that had just died of AIDS. I was in San Francisco so the story line was not a new subject. I am so glad that the meds have improved because people just dont die of AIDS like they used to!

      • That’s so funny – I love the diversity of your blog! I think variety is a great thing, it’s keeps people entertained, it is a sign of creativity, I think! 🙂

        I was lucky enough to see AiA at the theatre as well. Yeah, seven hours over two nights plus intermissions, that’s a long time… I think it’s a really clever play and one of the reasons why I asked you if you’d seen it is ‘cos of your location. My man’s uncle lives in SF and he didn’t rate the play at all. I wondered how people across the pond felt about the literature/subject matter. It is incredibly sad and a horribly harsh reality for many. Like you, I am pleased that things are improving…

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

