Do you see something wrong with this picture?


Each time I get on the J Church and am rolling north into downtown San Francisco, you will pass Dolores Park.

The view from the top corner is really incredible so my eyes usually gaze upon the city looking across to the East Bay.

You go under the pedestrian overpass so there’s not much scenery so most people usually tend to gaze away from the window and back to their laptop or across the train or to their book or their iPhone.

The lower section is where the real visual entertainment starts coming about. Keep your eyes peeled out the window looking below to the right, you’ll be looking for the basketball courts. They sit on the north west corner of Dolores Park so they’re going to be at the very top right when you come to the end of the block. As you come out of the tunnel you’ll catch a little bit of white striping on the court, follow it with your eyes.

I think somebody had maybe a little episode of Parkinson’s while trying to line the courts. I’ve never seen anything quite like it it’s been this way for years it really is quite hilarious!

Wanted to post this picture because Dolores Park’s in the process of a massive renovation. I have a feeling that in a very short amount of time this janky line work will no longer be able to be enjoyed or seen so here’s my ode to you Janky line work, may you live on through the Internet forever!

20120309-111350.jpg

This entry was posted in Writings from my world and tagged , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School in 1992 and moved up to the city. I have been in sf ever since and more specifically Bernal Hts. since 2009. I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

3 thoughts on “Do you see something wrong with this picture?

  1. Pingback: Lake Dolores, Fact or Legend? | ExploreSF

  2. In regards to Lake Delores, i have done a lot of research on early SF. From what i have found, there was not a lake in the mission. However, Islais Creek ran down what is now Cesar Chaves (they have sunk the stream underground). Islais Creek went out to Bayshore and that was tidal wetlands that would often flood. There was also a creek that ran down 16th st. This is why during the 06 quake, the most people died when the Valencia Hotel collapsed. It collapsed because it was built on a currently dry creek bed which then liquified. I have never found proof in studying SF early geology during populating days that points to a lake here in the mission. Back thousands of years ago it is highly possible though. There was a lake down in the marina called Washermans Slew. It was used for drinking water and allowing livestock to drink. Then used for bathing and washing. It ended up so polluted it had to be filled in. This is pretty much where the triangle today lies. Thanks for the cool link. I am right now going to check it out and see what i have possibly been missing! Cheers!

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

