I saw some interesting things a couple days ago on my daily hike on Bernal Hill… and it was oh so Bernal….


On my walk a couple days ago, i decided to go early (9:00am ish) unstead of later (4-6ish).  It was a very different scene up there in the morning.  I saw a lot of ladies. most of them with dogs a few with babies.  But even more that the female race, i saw so much wildlife!  As well as some things that are just oh so Bernal!  I hope you enjoy!

The morning light reflecting off of the bay looking south east from Bernal.

One of my favorite Bernal monuments… This rock is always being “artified” with a purpose! This time… in support of gay marriage!

Close up reading “My hand, Is there, Holding yours.” supporting gay marriage.

Secret (not so considering one of them is wearing reflective cal-trans style vest and they all had clip boards!) meeting on Bernal Hill.

 

 

Now, you’re gonna love this one. This is clearly covering some overnight graffiti, the unusual thing, the buffers (ones that paint it all out) left a note and taped it to the ground! (so artistic too with the dog poop on the left corner!)

 

Just gotta love the “Wet Paint, by Buff King” sign taped to the pavement… but wait…. this is not the only one!

Here is more of Mr. “Buff King’s” handy work… you are gonna love this one… just check out the “buffing paint job” the king employed here…

 

Now, that is one heck of a buffing! Nice paint job(s?)! I wonder which part of this is actually the wet paint painted by the Buff King? Seems like maybe he needed more paint! haha!

 

Sad that this big tree had become rotted and had to be cut down. I think because of that, these little finches were all in turmoil… And all over the place. Clears up a photo op view tho!

Here are those poor traumatized finches in flight. This was only a small number of them but you get the idea.

 

usually i do not do my hiking early in the AM, but i was surprised how much wild life i saw out in the mornings. I love these little birds!

I do think i like the haze of the other hikers/joggers/walkers/dog walkers in the late afternoon with that somewhat glazed look over tdheir faces as they pass in loops.  So much more is on your mind at the end of the day than at the begining of the day.  I did not get half as friendly of a hello or a smile while passing the AM crowd compared to the PM crowd.  I think that the AMers are used to their crowd being the ones up there and are leary of anyone new they may pass on the trail.  Or, they were just living in the my shit dont stink and yours does mentality.  Regardless, i loved all of the quirky things that i ran across in this am walk, but i think i will most likely be sticking to my busier afternoon crowd personally.  I am not going to be acquiring a dog or a baby any time soon, so i will most likely be given the eye of tresspass again if i do the AM walk.

Who knows, maybe it was just this one day.  I better not judge an entire time period on one day.  …We will have to try again and see if this is the norm or i just caught a bunch of snobby fridged females on this walk.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School and moved up to the city. I resided over in 94117 (north panhandle for short) for the majority of the 16 years that i have been here minus the last two in which i came here to Bernal Heights (aka Bernalwood). I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

6 thoughts on “I saw some interesting things a couple days ago on my daily hike on Bernal Hill… and it was oh so Bernal….

  1. I’m really surprised to read this, Emelie. In my experience, the early morning folk tend to be so much more open and friendly. Maybe that’s a Scottish thing?! I love doing things early morning. Morning is a special time of day, there’s a whole different element when you’re experiencing a whole place/town/city wake up… I say, give the early morning hike another go because, weird frigidity aside, you really enjoyed it… :)

    • Just for the strange anomolies and the awesome wildlife, i will do another AM hike for sure. It usually occurs when i am so stressed out that i just need to get the hell out of the house! (i have a couple of roommates that are a couple that area nightmare!). They have driven me to lose myself in excercize and cleaning!! Can you believe it?? Those Assholes!!! ;)

      • LOL! You know what, one big plus of living with your romantic partner is that you can get away with more bad habits… but you can also say exactly what they’re doing to piss you off! :) Then you can make up later… ;)

        I don’t envy you, but at least you have somewhere nice to escape to! :)

  2. Mornings are the best for sights, from the fauna wildlife, to the not so yet ready/awake human wildlife.

    The views, the crisper air, the less noise pollution. I just hate getting up out of bed.

    • The light was SO different in the AM. I think i live in a place where the people up then are wide awake. They are just not so used to seeing new faces that early and may not be as chatty as the pm crowd. I LOVE sunsets, but i saw a sunrise the other day that was just spectacular!! So as long as it is not mid day light, the lighting is pretty beautiful!

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

