Another day on the red chert hill if bernal! Isn’t the light beautiful?


A little over a month ago, I woke up one morning and had this total click into different way of life. I started hiking a couple of miles up and down the steep hills of San Francisco’s bernal heights. Where I live (about 350 vertical feet up from sea level in not quite 3 blocks, and another 150 for the next two which get me up to Barnal heights blvd that goes around the hill (if you walk the loop it is .02mi. Short of a mile. Shoot, I can easily go a mile just going the couple blocks to the bank or store on cortland (depending on how much isle strolling I do and what path I take. So, the other day, I was doing my hike up and around the rock and the light was just magic. It was an incredibly beautiful day over the weekend with the Americas Cup at sail at the opposite end of sf. It is just to prove to the world that sometimes one should think of stepping out of the gym and into the world. The payoff’s are so good that you can actually forget that your legs are burning and actually feel a little piece of the universe coming back into you!

20120828-170453.jpg

20120828-170604.jpg

20120828-170640.jpg

This also was the day we buried our beta fish Tyrone. Fitting I thought. Angelic almost!

20120828-170709.jpg

20120828-170623.jpg

20120828-170727.jpg

This entry was posted in Bernalwood at its best!, fun, Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School and moved up to the city. I resided over in 94117 (north panhandle for short) for the majority of the 16 years that i have been here minus the last two in which i came here to Bernal Heights (aka Bernalwood). I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

10 thoughts on “Another day on the red chert hill if bernal! Isn’t the light beautiful?

    • Oops. sorry if a half reply just went up… he is in this kinda elbow between the low, south east flat and the first hill on the rock. I will upload a photo so you can see. I think it is just easier. it is so cool, I believe it is an unofficial pet cemetery for quite a few neighbors of bernal. Not everyone has a backyard if they are on the upper flat or corner like i am. There is a cross under a tree on the very edge of the cliff for a snake named bubba. We found i believe 3 other pretty obvious burial spots due to a very non native cerimonial planting of something that does not belong there or a stone or cross or something. It is kinda neat… there is this big thistle that grows right above Tiki our kitty who we buried in December so we put Tyrone next to her and a big rock and a smooth river rock (the big one so the dogs and raccoons dont dig them up and the smooth one for the marker.. It’s like where the red fern grows! :)

      • That’s really great! I planted a mango tree over my dog Sam, but years later when it finally fruited, my sister piped up saying “we are essentially eating Sam so he’ll always be with us”.

        Although a sweet thought, couldnt eat the mangoes from the tree, ever.

  1. What a special tree that is. It’s so quirky looking! Great to be able to climb up somewhere high and look down on where you live. In that first pic, is that the San Fran smog? Or is that mist/fog?

    These are really great pics. :)

  2. Pingback: Here is a photo hike around Bernal Hill at sunset with San Francisco looking oh so beautiful! | bluepearlgirl's world

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

