Santa Clara 49ers? OH HELL NO!!! Something STINKS around that project! How very DARE they steal our SF 49ers! :(


Image

Ok… Considering that the San Francisco 49′ers have not officially made any announcement that they are “officially” leaving San Francisco, I smell something that is stinking of inside deals, behind the scenes financial pats on the backs back and forth and, well, just straight up dodgy ass dealings.

I am personally a 3rd generation 49ers fan.  It was built into me at a young age to love to hate Candlestick.  I do understand that with so many new stadiums with all the amenities out there while our team freezes their butts off  while playing for San Francisco, they need a new stadium.  Especially with the new Giants ballpark… (It is a really amazing little park!) And i understand that they already have their practice and headquarters down in Santa Clara.   I do get it.  I just think the way they went about the whole thing was just tackless and really disrespectfully wrong.

But, now, to be celebrating the ground breaking of the new Santa Clara 49er stadium without ever even having the balls to announce to the loyal loving city of SF, that they called home for so many years, (after their move from Kezar Stadium which IS in san francisco btw)… it is just… excuse my language… BULLSHIT!

9er fans are LOYAL fans. They are San Francisco 49er fans, NOT Santa Clara 49er fans.  It even feels just wrong having to type that.  It is disrespectful to us, the long time loyal fans, that have been so proud to have a team like the 49ers be our representation to the NFL.

This is a GIANT back-room deal with a whole bunch of cronies and fat cats making a FORTUNE out of it.  They also are going to be raising the price of tickets  to skyrocket up, with the new stadium which is going to absolutely make going to a game be an exclusive elite-ist activity for those fat cat 1%.  This last year i looked for tickets to a game and they were going for about $150 as it was.  That was too pricy for my blood so i chose to go to see the Giants instead and watch the games on tv while looking at the stick from my perch on Bernal Hill.  It sucked.  I wanted to go SO bad!  Now i know i will not ever go with prices for tickets being even higher!  They said Seasons tickets at the 50 yrd. line are said to be going for $90,000!

As a native of the bay area and almost 20 year resident of San Francisco, it just seriously hurts my heart to see how much this place has been bought. And in turn, it has sold out.  Completely.   It feels like snobby rich kids just moved onto my block and they are looking down on me.. lonely local resident.  They are the new NIMBY generation of greed and elitists and i hate it.  Just hate it!

What happened to the bohemia that has always been a part of this place.  Along with the unusually accepting freedoms we were known for, we worked hard to keep our old time survivors alive (Mae’s Oysters, Bay to Breakers, Halloween in the Castro etc!).  But they seem to be slipping.  Slipping on ideals greased with dollars, bribing them to be woo’d.  And they are taking the bite!  All while turning public opinion against the morals that ARE this city!

I know i have gone a little off topic of the 49ers, but it really is all emblematic of the soul-less changes that have bought their way through this town in the last 15 years.

Image

It makes me lose pride and actually feel like my bohemia on the bay is quickly slipping through the fingers of what makes this place what it is and has always been know for.  Freedom and inclusion.  I think the only thing that would make this girl happy, (since, although never stated so, looks like they ARE leaving SF), is to win one last superbowl (or two but that may be asking too much!) before we have to call them traitors because Santa Clara 49ers just hurts to much to say!

Gosh just listening to them talk right now about how they are starting groundbreaking a whole year early so they can be in SClara a year early so they can play there in 2014 makes me sick.  Not only are they stealing our team, but a year early too!!

Maybe an announcement and an apology to all the true loyalists might be a thought, before you tell us how great your stolen team experience is going to be for you assholes down in Santa Clara.  Starting this thing off leaving on a very nasty foot… your true fans have a real foul taste in their mouths because you did not have the balls and class enough to come clean with the fact that the San Francisco 49ers are moving out of San Francisco!  It is hard for me to get too excited for you when all i hear is about all the money and prize that this steal is bringing to another city.  They dont care about the fans, just the fans money!  I think i am going to have to boycott any visit to that stadium period.  It is tainted thanks to Santa Clara’s greed.

…However, i will still go to Great America and Shorline.  They are not on my boycot list. Just what is about to be birthed in their parking lot!

So, here is to you SAN FRANCISCO 49ers… and to the end of a beautiful era of being a team with integrity and fan appreciation!  I will so miss you!

Image

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in current events and word on the street!, social issues, Writings from my world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by bluepearlgirl's world. Bookmark the permalink.

About bluepearlgirl's world

Hello. My actual name is Emelie. I am an artist in San Francisco. I started out my early life deep in the Santa Cruz mountains. I left Santa Cruz shortly after graduating High School and moved up to the city. I resided over in 94117 (north panhandle for short) for the majority of the 16 years that i have been here minus the last two in which i came here to Bernal Heights (aka Bernalwood). I work in a number of mediums usually depending on the space i have to work in. In SF that can vary greatly! I look forward to sharing my thoughts, observations and photos with you all. Hopefully at the very least i will give you a little chuckle once and a while. Thank you for stopping and reading my little blog. I encourage all who stops by to leave comments. I will read them all and appreciate the time you spend with me! Sincerely to you all! Emelie (aka, Bluepearlgirl) To see some of my artwork, please check out www.artwanted.com/emelie ........... Another blogger Mskatiekins sums my blog up pretty well... here is what she said.... "BluePearlGirl’sWorld – This is one diverse blog. This sassy gal tackles big issues as well as posting funny and uplifting little pick-me-ups. I’d love to learn more about you and your art/creativity!"

5 thoughts on “Santa Clara 49ers? OH HELL NO!!! Something STINKS around that project! How very DARE they steal our SF 49ers! :(

  1. Pingback: The new 49er stadium in Santa Clara loses $30 mil. towards construction to be used for schools and infrastructure instead | bluepearlgirl's world

please join the discussion and add your thoughts!

